The Fernando de Noronha Archipelago, together with Rocas Atoll and the São Pedro and São Paulo Archipelago represent a large part of the insular surface of the South Atlantic, playing a fundamental role in the reproduction, dispersal and colonization of marine organisms in this region. As a result, it received two UNESCO titles, which should guarantee him greater environmental protection.

The Environmental Protection Area of Fernando de Noronha – Rocas – São Pedro and São Paulo was established by Decree Number 92.755, dated June 5, 1986, with the following main objectives:

  1. Protect and conserve the environmental quality and living conditions of fauna and flora.
  2. Achieve coherence between organized tourism and the preservation of natural resources.
  3. Align the human occupation on the Archipelago to the protection of the environment.

The Decree Number 96.693, dated September 14, 1988, creates the established Fernando de Noronha Marine National Park with the following objectives: protect representative sample of the marine and terrestrial ecosystems of the Archipelago; ensure the preservation of its fauna, flora and other natural resources; provide controlled opportunities for scientific research, environmental education and public visitation; contribute to the protection of sites and structures of historical and cultural interest.


Until 1990, the main economic occupation of the local population was public service, but, since that year, tourism has been growing, becoming an important source of economic income and the islanders have been improving and professionalizing the tourist service.

To know more about Tourism:

In the Area of Environmental Protection and in the National Marine Park of Fernando de Noronha, you must also obey the following rules:

  • It is only allowed to visit the National Marine Park between 8am and 6pm, with the exception of the Dolphin Outlook which is from 6.30am to 6pm.
  • From December to June, visiting the beaches of Americano, Bode, Quixabinha and Cacimba do Padre is only allowed from 6am to 6pm.
  • Only use licensed vessels and vehicles.
  • It is forbidden to camp, to stay overnight, to light fires on the beaches and to write or spray rocks, trees or signs.
  • Respect and do not kill, capture, chase or feed the animals.
  • Leave shells, corals, rocks, parts of animals and vegetables where they are.
  • It is forbidden to leave garbage and debris.

Legend of the Map:

  • PGR: Spinner Dolphin Project Headquarters
  1. ICMBio – Headquarters of the Fernando de Noronha National Marine Park, the Environmental Protection Area and the Tamar Project.
  2. Baía dos Porcos (Bay of Pigs) – It is forbidden to bath in the identified natural pool and to exceed the limits of the bay.
  3. Baía do Sancho (Sancho Bay) – You are not allowed to swim or dive out of the bay. It is forbidden to touch corals. They can burn and die due to pressure from the touch of hands and flippers.
  4. Trilha Baía dos Golfinhos / Baía dos Porcos (Trail Bay of Dolphins to Bay of Pigs) – No guide is required but it is not allowed to step off the trail. You can watch dolphins and sea birds and their nests like booby, white tern and black noddy.
  5. Mirante dos Golfinhos (Dolphins’ Outlook) – It is forbidden to go down the cliff, swim, dive and enter with vessels inside the Bay of Dolphins or in the immediate vicinity.
  6. Trilha Ponta da Sapata / Capim-Açu / Leão ( Trail from Ponta da Sapata / Capim-Açu / to Lions Beach) – Visitors are only allowed with guides accredited by the ICMBio. High degree of difficulty.
  7. Praia do Leão (Lion’s Beach) – This oceanic beach of Noronha is preferred by the green turtles to spawn. It is forbidden to touch or walk on the reefs. Watch carefully the currents of the sea.
  8. Mirante da Ponta das Caracas (Ponta das Caracas Outlook) – View allowed only from the belvedere, it is forbidden to descend the cliff.
  9. Baía do Sueste ( Bay of Sueste)– Respect the limits of the buoys, do not touch or walk on the reefs and do not enter the mangrove.
  10. Praia do Atalaia (Atalaia Beach) – To visit it, it is necessary to contact the ICMBio that will schedule visitation according to the tide. Diving is allowed without the use of shoes, fins, sunscreen and other products that can harm sea life. It is not allowed to walk on the reefs.
  11. Trilha Caieira-Atalaia (Caieira-Atalaia Trail) – Visit authorized only with guide accredited by the ICMBio.
  12. Enseada da Caieira (Caieira Cove) – This is the least accomplished, most dangerous and most beautiful dive from the island. Rough sea and strong currents. Rich marine biodiversity, spot for the fin-shark.
  13. Buraco da Raquel (Rachel’s Hole) – It is only allowed to view from the belvedere, it is forbidden to go down the cliff.